## **ENERGY PRODUCING STATES COALITION**

## State Legislator Coalition Appreciates Department of Interior's Announcement: Return of Sequestered Funds

\*\*\*For Immediate Release\*\*\*

Contact: Bo Ollison, 713-524-2388 or 202-549-5292 (cell) bollison@consumerenergyalliance.org

The Energy Producing States Coalition (EPSC) appreciates that the Department of Interior (DOI) has finally returned nearly \$110 million in federal mineral revenues withheld from the states under the guise of sequestration. However, these funds never should have been withheld under the sequestration based upon the Administration's faulty interpretation of the Balanced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act (BBEDCA) of 1985. Under BBEDCA withheld mineral revenues were required to be returned to the states.

According to the DOI, it will begin to withhold 8 percent of states federal mineral revenues for fiscal year 2014. "This is prudent because sequestration of mandatory budget authority for FY 2014 is required by BBEDCA and took effect October 1, 2013."

EPSC will continue to work with our Congressional Representation to mandate that mineral revenues are immediately provided to the states. EPSC believes that withholding state mineral revenue payments under any circumstance and in any amount is unacceptable.

Rep. Roger Barrus (UT), Chairman, Energy Producing States Coalition Sen. Cathy Giessel (AK), Chairman-Elect, Energy Producing States Coalition Speaker Thomas Lubnau (WY), Immediate Past Chairman, Energy Producing States Coalition The Executive Committee of the Energy Producing States Coalition

###

The <u>Energy Producing States Coalition</u> (EPSC) is a group of like-minded state legislators working together to develop positions and areas of common interest on policies and issues that affect domestic energy production and transmission. The group was founded in 2011 and currently includes legislators representing Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming. These legislators work together to develop and advocate for sound public policy in areas of shared interests between energy producing states.