## **State Legislator Coalition Encouraged by Department of Interior's Announcement**

\*\*\*For Immediate Release\*\*\*

Contact: Bo Ollison, 713-524-2388 or 202-549-5292 (cell) bollison@consumerenergyalliance.org

The <u>Energy Producing States Coalition</u> (EPSC) is encouraged to see that the Department of the Interior agreed to follow existing precedent and return nearly \$110 million in federal mineral revenues owed to the states early in fiscal year 2014.

While this decision is a positive first step in the right direction, until Congress passes the bipartisan supported, <u>State Mineral Revenue Protection Act</u>, states will have to deal with the federal government withholding a portion of their federal mineral revenues each year. This legislation would ensure that mineral revenue for natural resource development on public lands would be paid directly to those states it is owed. EPSC believes that withholding state mineral revenue payments under any circumstance is inappropriate and supports Congressional actions to eliminate the possibility of any future occurrence.

Rep. Roger Barrus (UT), Chairman, Energy Producing States Coalition Sen. Cathy Giessel (AK), Chairman-Elect, Energy Producing States Coalition Speaker Thomas Lubnau (WY), Immediate Past Chairman, Energy Producing States Coalition The Executive Committee of the Energy Producing States Coalition

###

The Energy Producing States Coalition (EPSC) is a group of like-minded state legislators working together to develop positions and areas of common interest on policies and issues that affect domestic energy production and transmission. The group was founded in 2011 and currently includes legislators representing Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Mississippi, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming. These legislators work together to develop and advocate for sound public policy in areas of shared interests between energy producing states.